Ads 468x60px

Sunday, June 12, 2011

Aisam Ul Haq Qureshi and Rohan Bopanna Wins Gerry Weber Open title

Indo-Pak Express Rohan Bopanna and Aisam Ul Haq Qureshi won their second team title as they defeated Robin Haase of the Netherlands and Milos Raonic of Canada in three thrilling sets sets 7-6(8), 3-6, 11-9 in the final of Geery Weber Open in Haale on Sunday. Qureshi and Bopanna took an hour and nineteen minutes to undo their opponents.

Both teams held their serve in the first twelve games of the opening set, levelling the score at 6-6 and forcing a tie-break. Qureshi and Bopanna claimed a late mini-break in the tie-break to win it 10-8. The Indo-Pak duo fired three aces and won 92 percent of the first service points in the first set.

In the second set, Haase and Raonic broke the Indo-Pak team in the eight game and held their serve in the next game, winning the set 6-3.

The Dutch-Canadian pair clinched two mini-breaks early in the match tie-break, racing to a 5-1 lead. Qureshi and Bopanna won three consecutive points to reduce the deficit to 4-5, taking back one mini-break. Both pair held their serve in the next four points to take the score to 6-7. At 9-9, Raonic committed a double fault, awarding a match point to Qureshi and Bopanna. The Indo-Pak Express controlled their nerves and won the match tie-break 11-9.

This is Indo-Pak Express’ first title this year and their maiden title on grass. The pair won their only previous title at the SA Open in Johannesburg, beating beating Ukrainian/Isreali pair of Karol Beck and Harol Levy in three sets 2-6, 6-3, 10-5 in the final last year. 

Source :

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...