Ads 468x60px

Monday, September 12, 2011

Cricket's biggest award for top performers to be presented

The LG International Cricket Council (ICC) awards for the outstanding performers in world cricket during last year (between 11 August 2010 and 3 August 2011) will be given away at a colourful function to be held today (September 12) at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane in London.

The Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Cricketer of the Year is being closely contested this year with England's Alastair Cook, and Jonathan Trott along with India's Sachin Tendulkar and Hashim Amla emerging as the four strong contenders.

Reacting to intense contest for all the awards which includes the best Test player of the year, One-day cricketer of the year, emerging player of the year, associate and affiliate player of the year, former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd, who chaired the panel of experts and independent voting academy, said: "It was an extremely close run contest this year in all the categories as everyone performed well over the period."

Trott, who has been short-listed in three categories such as Cricketer of the Year, ODI Cricketer of the Year and even the People's Choice Award said: "It is not something you think about when you are playing. But what nomination brings with it some good and fond memories. I think the nominations show plenty of England players in all categories. It shows how we have been successful as a side over the past year and how everyone has contributed to it."

The other three short listed for the Test player of the year are his teammates Cook and James Anderson along with South Africa's Jacques Kallis. Before the start of the awards, ICC will announce the One-day team of the year.

The ODI player of the year will be decided from among Amla, Gautam Gambhir, Kumar Sangakkara and Shane Watson. Commenting on his chances, Watson said: I'm very excited. It's always a great honour to be nominated in a couple of categories, let alone being short-listed. I'm not sure how bright my chances are but I'm thrilled to be in the category with three extremely talented players in Hashim Amla, Kumar Sangakkara and Gautam Gambhir, all of whom have had fantastic years."

Another prestigious category is the emerging player of the year award. The four players short listed are Pakistan's Azhar Ali and Wahab Riaz, West Indies Davendra Bishoo and Darren Bravo. Bishoo expressing his surprise at being nominated said: "It was a huge surprise to be announced as one of the players. I'm really quite nervous about being on the short-list."

The trophy for the best umpire has been named after the late umpire David Shephered. Umpires Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Ian Gould and Simon Taufel are the contenders.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...