Ads 468x60px

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Umar Gul only Pak player named in ICC ODI team

Fast bowler Umar Gul is the only Pakistan player selected in the International Cricket Council One-day Team of the Year, the cricket world governing body revealed on Monday.
Umar Gul, South African pacer Del Steyn, Indian pacer Zaheer Khan have been named in playing XI while Sri Lankan Lasith Malinga has been named 12th man of one-day team of the year. The ICC announced Monday its ODI Team of the Year, as chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian batting legend and former captain Clive Lloyd, according to the governing body’s press release.
The announcement was made at a special function ahead of the ICC Awards ceremony being held on Monday evening at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London. Presented in association with FICA, the ICC Awards recognise the best international players and officials of the past 12 months.
Six countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and just one player – MS Dhoni, the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 winning captain, keeps wicket and leads the side and is joined by fellow ICC ODI Team of the Year 2009 members AB de Villiers of South Africa and Shane Watson of Australia. Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara and Lasith Malinga and Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan and Yuvraj, Umar Gul have also been selected in the team. Chairman of the LG ICC Awards selection panel Lloyd was joined on the panel by exPakistan captain Zaheer Abbas, ex-England captain Mike Gatting, ex-New Zealand bowler Danny Morrison and former South African bowler Paul Adams. Statistics were available as a guide but were not necessarily the overwhelming factor in the choices made.
ICC ODI Team of the Year
Dilshan (SL), Sehwag (Ind), Sangakkara (SL), AB de Villiers (SA), Watson (Aus), Yuvraj Singh (Ind), Dhoni (Ind, wk/capt), G Swann (Eng), Umar Gul (Pak), D Steyn (SA), Zaheer Khan (Ind)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...